New Moon August 2012

Today I look ahead to the rest of the month (and the rest of the year) as I take stock of my physical and spiritual harvest and plan what to do next with my life. I graduated in May, went to India for three weeks, had a change of heart regarding my future career (from a PhD in religious studies to an MS in Library and Information Science), and am now living at home as I simultaneously send out job and graduate school applications. Life is a strange mix of incredibly busy and incredibly devoid of goals at the moment; I feel myself surrounded with the joy of opportunity and my life ahead of me, and weighed down with depression and listlessness. I know that I need focus, dedication, and deadlines for things to get done – otherwise, things just don’t get done. Now I have the time to devote to my spirituality, to finish ADF’s Dedicant Path, to read all the books I’ve put off for four years – but now what? What do I want? What do I need? One commitment I’ve been wanting to make – that I feel like I should have made quite some time ago – was to this blog and to writing in general.

When I was younger, all I wanted to do with my life was be a writer. I love to write, and I think I’m pretty darn good at it if I do say so myself. I also have a sneaking suspicion that my work both with Brighid and the Morrígan has to do both with the conscious act of creation when writing a book or blog entry or poem as well as the plumbing of unconscious depths as I seek inspiration and truth. That’s why I sat down and planned out a blogging schedule for the rest of the year. My goal is to update Sage and Starshine every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.

What can you expect to see here from now on? Well, at least once a week I’ll be bringing you updates of my progress on ADF’s Dedicant Path. This will include my progress with Dedicant Path requirements (such as book reports and my ongoing Meditation Log), ritual planning and scripts for each High Day, and my burgeoning relationship with the Three Kindreds.

I’m also returning to my previous work with Kimberly Sherman-Cook’s In the Shadow of 13 Moons. This is a year-long exploration of waning/dark/new moon magic. I have a latent interest in working with these energies as well as developing a lunar cycle of work (neatly complementing ADF’s solar-based calendar). In the Shadow of 13 Moons does come with a Neo-Wiccan flavoring, but from skimming through the first few chapters I think Sherman-Cook’s ideas and exercises should dovetail nicely with my own.

Speaking of books, book reviews. Lots and lots of book reviews. I have many Pagan and metaphysical books on my shelves, some of which I’ve had for years without finishing or even beginning, and I’ve made a pact with myself to read all of them. Yes, even some I picked up at the Goodwill for a laugh. Expect about two book reviews a month, or more if I’m reading particularly fast. The first reviews I’m working on are for Michelle Skye’s Goddess Alive! and Arin Murphy-Hisock’s The Way of the Green Witch.

Finally, I’m picking back up my series (is it a series if there was only ever one entry?) that started with Manannán mac Lir called Better Know a Celt. Once a month I’ll be showcasing a different Celtic deity through Their relationships, associations, mythology, and modern worship. I’ll focus primarily on the Gaelic deities first as They’re part of my chosen Hearth Culture, then expand out to Cymru and the Continental Celts. This month we’re going to be looking at, surprise surprise, Lugh!

One last note, before I sign off for the day. All my readers, new subscribers, friends, random people who StumbleUpon’d here, it means a lot to see those page hits every day, to read comments, to see favorites. Blogging is a way for me to feel connected to the greater Pagan community, to feel like I have something important to say and that my input is valid. If it weren’t for blogs and podcasts and the great Pagan forums I belong to, I’d be a sad little solitary indeed. For everyone who’s supported my writing or been my friend: thank you. It really means a lot.

Love,

Danny

Leave a Reply

